The Solar Plexus Chakra Region – Our Free Will, Life’s Purpose and Femininity

The Solar Plexus Chakra Region represents our willingness to:

  • express our gifts and talents developed over many lifetimes;
  • “strut our stuff” celebrating and sharing who we really are with the world;
  • and nurture ourselves and others.

All of the chakra regions of the body are important however this region contains the highest potential for physical and emotional illness if not in balance and fully expressed.

Most of us ask ourselves, “What is my life’s purpose?” The simple answer to that question is: We are here to transform ourselves, others and the universe through our many life experiences. There is no other purpose for us to be on this or any other planet. We are here to be alive completely enjoying, learning from, and understanding every moment, situation and event in our lives.

The challenging task, where we all sometimes get “stuck at start”, is addressing and answering the following questions: “How willing am I to take on the responsibility of having many different life experiences? How willing am I to show others my unique expression of intelligence, creativity, strength, joy, love and happiness? How willing am I to risk expressing love in every moment, situation and event in my life? ” You are here to go into action to stand out, be who you are, and feel comfortable loving yourself in the process.

This area has a special connection for me because I work with so many people who are afraid to be themselves and/or allow others to negatively influence who they are, what they think, and how they choose to live their life. Of course, this is part of the journey. We create situations that force us to come face-to-face with ourselves and ask, “Whom am I willing to be at this moment? Will I act with the highest expression of love for myself and others?” Every situation in our lives inherently contains these questions.

And because every situation raises these questions, we must be sensitive enough to recognize our choices and their consequences. Most of us feel how our choices will affect us ahead of time because we get these “gut feelings.” Instantly we know when we are serving ourselves or others positively or negatively. Why? The solar plexus is the most sensitive area of the body for us emotionally, physically and spiritually. This is where our physical body was connected to our mothers for nine months; our first physical experience is the process of being cared for, fed, protected, and nurtured. We also had our first experience of how emotions affect the body. When our mothers experienced stress, negativity, joy and happiness, we felt these energies as well because they were instantaneously transferred to us through the umbilical cord to our solar plexus.

The Solar Plexus Region contains eight chakras, the highest number of chakras of any region. They rule the spleen, stomach, pancreas, liver, esophagus, gallbladder, emotions and the development of feminine energy in both men and women. Many of us bury our hurts and negative emotions in the solar plexus. We have all said at one time or another that when something emotionally traumatic happened to us we felt as if we had been punched in the stomach. If we are not able to fully be and express who we are through living our life’s purpose(s), we create stress, grief, frustration, bitterness, anger and emotional imbalances which according to Chinese medicine can possibly turn into ulcers, diabetes (not accepting joy in life), liver imbalances (an expression of anger), and gallstones (bitterness and frustration).

These eight chakras help us to balance our emotions and connect with our femininity. The feminine aspect represents how we express our emotions. It also relates to how we nurture and love ourselves and others. In this society, we are all out of balance with our femininity; men are taught not to express or show their emotions and women are taught to nurture others and not themselves. In order to heal ourselves and the world, our femininity must be fully embraced and expressed. It is interesting to note the increase of medical commercials for digestive discomfort ranging from gas and bloating to acid reflux; people are not living their purpose and/or fully expressing their emotions.

In the next eight articles I will introduce these chakras, list their positive and potential negative effects on our physical, mental, emotional and spiritual states of well-being, and how to bring them in balance. In the meantime, here is a poem that fully encapsulates the meaning of the Solar Plexus Region.

I Celebrate Me

I am worth celebrating. I am worth everything.
I am unique. In this whole world, there is only one me.
There is no one person with my talents, experiences, gifts.
No one may take my place.

I have immense potential to love, care, create, grow,
sacrifice, if I believe in myself.

It doesn’t matter my age, or color, or whether my parents
loved me or not. (Maybe they wanted to but couldn’t.)

It doesn’t matter what I have been, the things I’ve done,
mistakes I’ve made, people I’ve hurt.
I am forgiven.

I am accepted. I am okay. I am loved in spite of everything.
So I love myself and nourish seeds within me.

I celebrate me. I begin now. I start anew.
I give myself a new birth today.
I am me, and that’s all I need to be.

Today is a new beginning. A new life, given freely.
So I celebrate the miracle, and I celebrate me.


Copyright © 2009 by Shirlyn Wright